Queen Mary University of London

Queen Mary University of London (QMUL) is a public research university in London, England, which is a constituent college of the University of London.

It dates back to the London Hospital Medical College founded in 1785.

Queen Mary College was admitted to the University of London in 1915 and named after Mary of Teck, Queen of the United Kingdom. In 1989, Queen Mary College merged with Westfield College to form Queen Mary and Westfield College. In 1995, Queen Mary and Westfield College merged with St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College, established in 1843, and the London Hospital Medical College, founded in 1785.

Queen Mary’s main campus is in the Mile End area of East London, with other campuses in Holborn, Smithfield and Whitechapel. It has 20,260 students and 4,000 staff.

Queen Mary is organised into three faculties – the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Science and Engineering and Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry – within which there are 21 academic departments and institutes. It is one of the largest colleges of the University of London.

Queen Mary is a member of the Russell Group of leading British research universities, the Association of Commonwealth Universities and Universities UK. Queen Mary is a major centre for medical teaching and research and is part of UCL Partners, the world’s largest academic health science centre. It has a strategic partnership with the University of Warwick, including research collaboration and joint teaching of English, history and computer science undergraduates. Queen Mary also collaborates with Royal Holloway, University of London to run programmes at the University of London Institute in Paris.

Queen Mary is frequently ranked among the top universities in the UK, Europe and is among the top 100 universities in the world. It was recently ranked among the top five universities in London. There are six Nobel Laureates amongst Queen Mary’s alumni and current and former staff.